facebook  Instagram  YouTube  twitter  LinkedIn

Levinson Award


Objectives of the Award

The objectives of this Award are to give community recognition to the importance of Jewish women and men carrying out a significant citizenship role in harmony with the Jewish ideals of social justice and concern for our fellow man, to recognize those who have demonstrated leadership ability in promoting improved inter-group relations and the elimination of prejudice and bigotry in our society, and to recognize active participation in the advancement of the goals and objectives of the Community Relations Council of the Jewish Federation of Greater Pittsburgh.

Nature of the Award

The Award shall include an inscribed scroll (plaque) to be presented at an appropriate meeting of the Community Relations Council by a member of the Levinson family and attendance at the Annual Plenary Session of the Jewish Council for Public Affairs. The recipient shall receive reimbursement for expenses, up to a maximum of $750.  These funds shall be made available annually from the Sonia & Aaron Levinson Trust Fund.

Criteria for Selection

The nominee must be a member of the Jewish community of Greater Pittsburgh, an active participant in Jewish communal life, a donor to the Jewish Federation in good standing , and of demonstrated leadership ability through participation and achievement in community relations activities.

Committee for Selection

The Selection Committee shall be made up of past winners of the Award. The judgment of the Selection Committee shall be final.


To suggest someone as the next recipient of the Levinson Award, click here.

Past Recipients

Edwin I. Grinberg

Kenneth M. Steinberg

Nicholas D.J. Lane

Jon Pushinsky

Frederick N. Frank

Daniel E. Butler

JoAnn R. Spiegel

Rabbi Neal S. Scheindlin

Louis B. Kushner

Nina Butler

Dr. Barbara Burstin

Karen Levitt

Karen A. Shapira

Judi Kanal

Dan B. Frankel

Cindy Goodman-Leib

Kathy R. Hurwitz

Barb Feige

Rabbi Mark N. Staitman

Dr. Jennifer Rudin

Rabbi James A. Gibson

Mahnaz Harrison

Eileen L. Lane

E.J. Strassburger

Judith L. Palkovitz

Mark Frank

Steven D. Irwin

David May-Stein

Robert S. Whitehill, Jr.

Nancy Bernstein

Deborah Fidel

David Ainsman

Jewish Federation of Greater Pittsburgh

Jewish Federation of Greater Pittsburgh
2000 Technology Drive, Pittsburgh, PA 15219
412-681-8000  |  jewishpgh.org  |  info@jfedpgh.org

Copyright © 2019 The Jewish Federation of Greater Pittsburgh. All Rights Reserved
Privacy Policy   |   Terms of Use